Mr. Josep Borrell Fontelles High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Rue de la Loi 200 1040 Brussels Belgium

In Brussels, 08 April 2020

Dear Mr High Representative,

On January 31 the WHO declared that the outbreak of 2019 novel coronavirus originating from China's Wuhan is a public health emergency of international concern. As of today, the global number of confirmed cases passed one million mark. Many countries around the world are severely affected by this pandemic.

The WHO treatment of Taiwan as part of China has caused problems for Taiwan. Not only is its democratically elected government barred from taking part in the World Health Assembly, but Taiwanese experts are also arbitrarily prevented from taking part in technical meetings. If the motto of the WHO is 'health for all' and 'leaving no one behind', the Taiwanese people are certainly not treated that way. It is not fair to the 23 million people of Taiwan.

Given the Taiwan's early vigilance and effective efforts in containing this pandemic that have been widely recognized internationally I think that it is of utmost importance to cooperate and share knowledge and experience and include Taiwan in international organizations, mechanisms and activities.

Therefore, I would like to request your support for Taiwan to be incorporated in the WHO meetings, mechanism and activities, support Taiwan's full participation in both the World Health Assembly as an observer and the WHO's disease prevention mechanisms, including its Global Outbreak Alert and Response Network (GOARN). It will enable Taiwan to help the global efforts in fighting the COVID-19.

In these difficult times, the substantial cooperation in areas such as medical supplies, research and development of vaccines between Taiwan, the EU and its Member States would be beneficial in order to curb the further spread of the pandemic and better prepare for any future outbreak.

I thank you in advance for the consideration of your support for Taiwan.

Best regards, has fift

Ivan ŠTEFANEC Michaela ŠOJDROVÁ Urmas PAET

Group of the European People's Party Group of the European People's Party Renew Europe Group Jan Witold WASZCZYKOWSKI European Conservatives and Reformists Group

Petras AUSTREVICIUS Renew Europe Group

Carmen AVRAM Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and

Democrats in the European Parliament

Kosma ZLOTOWSKI European Conservatives and Reformists Group

Isabel SANTOS Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and

Democrats in the European Parliament

Margrete AUKEN Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance Kira Marie PETER-HANSEN Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance

Milan ZVER Group of the European People's Party

Juozas OLEKAS Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and

Democrats in the European Parliament

Eugen JURZYCA European Conservatives and Reformists Group

Brando BENIFEI Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and

Democrats in the European Parliament

Andrey KOVATCHEV
Liudas MAŽYLIS
Group of the European People's Party
David LEGA
Group of the European People's Party
Jörgen WARBORN
Group of the European People's Party
Michal WIEZIK
Group of the European People's Party
Iuliu WINKLER
Group of the European People's Party

Katalin CSECH Renew Europe Group
Malin KAELLEN Renew Europe Group

Vladimír BILČÍK Group of the European People's Party Rosa ESTARÀS FERRAGUT Group of the European People's Party

Beata MAZUREK European Conservatives and Reformists Group

Juan Fernando LÓPEZ AGUILAR Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and

Democrats in the European Parliament

Manuel PIZARRO Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and

Democrats in the European Parliament

Alexandr VONDRA European Conservatives and Reformists Group
Mikulas PEKSA Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance

Ludek NIEDERMAYER Group of the European People's Party

Ryszard Antoni LEGUTKO European Conservatives and Reformists Group

Peter POLLÁK Group of the European People's Party

Clara AGUILERA Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and

Democrats in the European Parliament

Isabel CARVALHAIS Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and

Democrats in the European Parliament

Nathalie LOISEAU Renew Europe Group

Lucia ĎURIŠ NICHOLSONOVÁ European Conservatives and Reformists Group Veronika VRECIONOVÁ European Conservatives and Reformists Group

ILANA CICUREL Renew Europe Group

Miriam LEXMANN Group of the European People's Party
Leopoldo LÓPEZ GIL Group of the European People's Party

Anthanasios KONSTANTINOU Non-attached Members

Anna FOTYGA European Conservatives and Reformists Group

Bart GROOTHUIS
Renew Europe Group
Barry ANDREWS
Renew Europe Group
Cristian GHINEA
Renew Europe Group
Frédérique RIES
Renew Europe Group
Jan-Christoph OETJEN
Renew Europe Group

Riho TERRAS Group of the European People's Party

Marcos ROS SEMPERE Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and

Democrats in the European Parliament

Carles PUIGDEMONT I CASAMAJÓ Non-attached Members

Clara PONSATÍ I OBIOLS

Antoni COMÍN I OLIVERES

Marie-Pierre VEDRENNE

Non-attached Members

Renew Europe Group

Raphaël GLUCKSMANN Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and

Democrats in the European Parliament

Elżbieta RAFALSKA European Conservatives and Reformists Group

Bart GROOTHUIS Renew Europe Group

Nicolaus FEST Identity and Democracy Group

Andreas GLUECK Renew Europe Group
Abir AL-SAHLANI Renew Europe Group
Klemen GROŠELJ Renew Europe Group

Tomáš ZDECHOVSKÝ Group of the European People's Party

Javier NART Renew Europe Group
Fabio Massimo CASTALDO Non-attached Members

Marco CAMPOMENOSI Identity and Democracy Group

Rasa JUKNEVICIENE Group of the European People's Party

Gianna GANCIA Identity and Democracy Group

Jens GIESEKE Group of the European People's Party