

Европейски парламент Parlamento Europeo Evropský parlament Europa-Parlamente Europäisches Parlament Europa Parlament Epopandikó Koivoßoúluo European Parlament Parlement européen Parlaimint na hEorpa Europski parlament Parlamento europeo Eiropas Parlaments Europos Parlamentas Európai Parlament Parlament Europew Europeas Parlement Parlament Europejski Parlamento Europeu Parlamentu European Európsky parlament Evropski parlament Europaparlamenti Europaparlamente

In Strasbourg, 8 March 2022

Your Holiness Kirill, Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia,

As democratically elected representatives of the citizens of European Union, we address you with an urgent request to engage in the efforts to stop the war in Ukraine.

We are convinced that your message to the unity of the Church, which you called for on Sunday, February 27, cannot be achieved by military action or by the forcible annexation of territories. Faith and religious belief are fundamental human rights and must be based on personal freedom. The current military campaign has resulted not only in the suppression of freedom, but also in many deaths and human tragedies. Millions of mothers with children have fled their homes in fear of bombing and violence. Humanitarian catastrophe is imminent. At the same time, the military campaign is accompanied by a huge amount of disinformation, which results in a widening of differences between countries.

We trust that, just as we are not careless to the current situation, neither are you, as a Christian who has been given responsibility by God for the salvation of so many souls. We therefore appeal to you to condemn the military attack by Russian troops on a sovereign country and fratricidal bloodshed, thus helping to calm the situation, as Patriarch Bartholomew I and Pope Francis have already done.

Yours sincerely,

Members of the European Parliament,

Ivan ŠTEFANEC Marian-Jean MARINESCU Peter VAN DALEN Pernille WEISS Juozas OLEKAS Bart GROOTHUIS



Европейски парламент Parlamento Europeo Evropský parlament Europa-Parlamentet Europäisches Parlament Europpa Parlament Еυρωποϊκό Κοινοβούλιο European Parliament Parlement européen Parlaimint na hEorpa Europski parlament Parlamento europeo Eiropas Parlaments Europos Parlamentas Európai Parlament Parlament Europees Parlement Parlament Europejski Parlamento Europeu Parlamentul European Európsky parlament Europesi parlament Europan parlamentti Europaparlamentet

Aušra MALDEIKIENE Ljudmila NOVAK Lukasz KOHUT Peter POLLÁK Lars Patrick BERG Maria GRAPINI Gianna GANCIA Romana TOMC Željana ZOVKO Bernard GUETTA Liudas MAZYLIS Franc BOGOVIC Krzysztof HETMAN